Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/24/2005 8:27:20 PM EDT
Alright,

Some background:
I am a commerical truck driver (for the time being),

I was involved in an accident on the 2nd of september. The other party involved was driving a city owned work truck. Driver changed lanes into the side of my truck, minor damage to my rig (company truck), minor damage to the work truck, and moderate damage to a 3rd party/witness vehicle.

No injuries, except for a sore back that I've had for a while

I purchased a copy of the police report to have proof that the accident was NOT my fault, and indeed the officer saw it my way, and reported the accident was caused by an unsafe lane change... and noted that it was a violation of the California Vehicle code.

I did lose a few days of work (I am paid by the mile) while my truck was down for the minor repairs/DOT inspection to ensure that it was safe to drive.

I am being 'urged' to contact a lawyer regarding legal (monetary) damages that I may be able to collect from the city whose truck was involved.

Again, I was not injured in the accident, but did miss some work. This does affect my personal auto insurance, as well as go on my personal/professional driving reccord... this is what Im most pissed about.

I just dont want to be the typical ashole you hear about that sues over the little bullshit things... I have never been in a situation like this however.

Just wanted to get the 'hives' opinion on this..

Thanks in advance for any advice/opinions.

edited for horrible spelll speel....typing  

Link Posted: 9/24/2005 8:37:12 PM EDT
[#1]
It cost you moeny, is goin gto affect your insurance as well as your driver's abstract. yeah, I would sue, if only to cover the loss of wages as well as the increase in insurance you will have ot deal with, if you can get punitive damages awarded for the injury it has cost your driving record I would do that as well.
Link Posted: 9/24/2005 8:42:38 PM EDT
[#2]