Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/10/2005 6:46:00 AM EDT
I keep sitting behind my desk everyday thinking that I should be doing something more and I keep looking at the Army Recruiting website trying to decide if I should sign up and get my commission, but I want some honest answers about the process and my ability to get the MOS that I would want.

First of all, I am 28, 6'0" 185lbs (broad chest no gut) and in good physical shape.  I have a slight back ache from a car accident when I was 18, but otherwise I am physically GTG.  I don't wear glasses except for a very slight prescription for reading (mainly due to eye fatigue issues) but my vision checks out at 20/20.  My undergraduate was in psychology and I have my JD.  Currently, I am a practicing attorney, but JAG is out of the question.  

Now here are my questsions:

1:  What are my chances of getting into Army Aviation and how is that determined?  Is this a question of me going through OCS and seeing where I am assigned, or is there any track that you can be placed on through the process?

2:  I know that there is an aviation component of the reserves, but can you join and get the training in the reserves or do you have to go active first?

3:  Anything else that I might want to consider?  Obviously, if I couldn't get aviation I would rather go into combat arms.

Thanks,
Kyle
Link Posted: 8/10/2005 7:18:48 AM EDT
[#1]
Hi, I don't see a lot of responses in your thread yet, so I wanted to keep this going. I am merely a cadet in college (very frequently referred to by people in the real Army, doing real service, as a "F***ing Cadet"), but expect that when enough people get off work, some helpful information will come your way. I would like to offer what little I know, and others may feel free to jump in and correct me if I say anything that doesn't jive with reality: