Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/6/2005 8:23:56 AM EDT

Complacency kills -- in love, war

By:   Sgt. Luis R. Agostini

MARINE CORPS BASE CAMP PENDLETON, Calif.(July 14, 2005) -- Who'd ever think that you actually have to work to keep and maintain a happy, healthy marriage?

Weren't the dozens of flowers, dinners, movies, dating and endless chasing at the beginning of your relationship enough? The ring you're still paying for should be enough to cash in on your investment, right?

And on top of that, after coming back from a grueling, dangerous deployment to Iraq or Afghanistan, you should re-assume your rightful position on the leather, reclining throne as the king of the house, shouldn't you?

The answer to those rhetorical questions is a big, emphatic NO.

I'm not a marriage counselor, nor have I ever attended any counseling. However, I'm still learning from simple mistakes made over the course of the nearly four years that I've been married, and I've learned a few things here and there. One of the biggest relationship roadblocks I've seen, heard and experienced is complacency.

Just as a Marine wouldn't neglect his primary weapon by allowing it to rust, neither should he allow his marriage to wither.

Complacency kills, both on the battlefield and at home. Once you allow your relationship to glide into "cruise control," you may very well be speeding into a marital wreck.

Claiming the role as "breadwinner" isn't enough. You pay all of the bills? So what. As much as Marines are encouraged to look at the "big picture," the devil is in the details, even in a marriage.