Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/15/2001 9:49:47 PM EDT
Help !

My wife bought me a shotgun for my birthday a few days ago (o/u SKB 585 gold) and I felt kinda guilty so I bought her a shotgun too.

(previously -- our only shotguns were for defense and were a few Remington 870's and a few Marine 870's -  I have no real shotgun experience)

I bought her a Browning "Gold Ladies Sporting Clays" semi-auto.  

[url]www.browning.com/products/catalog/firearms/gold/gold_lady_sporting_clays.htm[/url]

Here's my question:

After we got it I ran a patch w/ militec-1 down the barrel a few times and she went to the range and shot about 10 shells.

When it was back home, I stripped it down and cleaned each part with Ballistol (great stuff by the way!).   The bore and chamber were pretty filthy but cleaned up nicely.  BUT..  When I tried to wipe down the outside of the blued barrel, the cloth came off with an orange color.  
OVER and OVER again !   I thought that it might be some kind of rust preventative grease or coating ...??  After wiping down about with Militec-1 about 20 times, the orange color still comes off !  (NOT from the militec coloring.  it even happens with the clear Ballistol)

Is it from the blueing process? (i know that blueing is done with an oxidation process of some sort)  

Is it possible to rub the finish down too much?

Will I remove the blueing by over cleaning?

(the damn gun cost me more than an AR15 and I don't want to ruin it...)

Thanks!!
Link Posted: 7/15/2001 9:57:12 PM EDT
[#1]
It's rust preventive.  I've had my Winchester 1300 for 3 years and I still occasionally wipe off orange crap when doing a detailed cleaning.  

Clean it like usual, oil it, reassemble it and leave it alone.  The rust preventive will disappear after a while.
Link Posted: 7/15/2001 10:11:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Damn..  I could kiss you !!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks!
RBAD