Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/15/2001 5:43:41 AM EDT
You start with a .50 BMG shell casing, then you find or make a sabot to hold lets say 85 grain 5.56 mm projectial, then comes the powder,.......so, how many grains of and what type of powder????????????

Any of you know how fast this type of setup would clock?

Any sunday thoughts on this one, besides say I am crazy?
Link Posted: 7/15/2001 5:57:26 AM EDT
[#1]
Yea.....I'd say your crazy alright![:o)]

I'm not an expert, but that damn bullet would be going so freaking fast it just might burn up inside the barrel!![:\]

sgtar15
Link Posted: 7/15/2001 7:24:07 AM EDT
[#2]
The military already uses a .50 BMG firing a .30 sabot.  The round is spin stabilized and has a MV of about 4100 FPS.  4100 FPS is about the max current propellants can drive a spin stabilized projectile with any degree of accuracy.

The key to going faster is found by going from a rifled bore back to the smooth bore.  The M1 tank fires a fin stabilized sabot projectile with a MV around 5000 FPS out of a smooth bore.  The next step, I think, will be a tapered smooth bore, non-fin (less drag) projectile, combined with advanced multiple stage (variable burn rate)propellants.  Unless of course we go to light weight electromagnetic rail guns or lazer technologies.

Anybody with a few million $ want to gamble on a new non-fin stabilized sabot, tapered smooth bore project?  I  have had a few designs in mind for quite some time!!

Semper Fi
Link Posted: 7/15/2001 8:17:48 AM EDT
[#3]
Is that a .30 cal A.P. bullet?  Peach.
Link Posted: 7/15/2001 8:27:26 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Yea.....I'd say your crazy alright![:o)]

I'm not an expert, but that damn bullet would be going so freaking fast it just might burn up inside the barrel!![:\]

sgtar15
View Quote

Yep, I admit I may be crazy, but it is fun! Now to see how much _______ it can eat throught!
Link Posted: 7/15/2001 9:00:05 AM EDT
[#5]