Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 2/12/2001 3:44:21 PM EDT
I made a statement at the ArmaLite forum that everything else being equal a heavier bullet will fly farther than a lighter bullet.  My logic was that the Kenetic Energy is equal to 1/2 the mass times the velocity squared.  Therefore the bullet with the greater mass would penetrate more medium (air or what ever) if the velocities and Ballistic Coeficients were the same.

Well, I went to the Sierre Reloding manual to get some proof. I chose the .284, 168 grn. MK vs. the .308 180 grn. MK because ther BCs are pretty similar.

Well according to the manual there trajectories are dang near identicle.  

What gives?
Link Posted: 2/12/2001 4:04:23 PM EDT
[#1]
Don`t have any quick answer. But here`s link that might help. http://www.povn.com/%7E4n6/index.htm#Contents
Link Posted: 2/12/2001 4:43:48 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm no balistics expert, that's for sure.

The problem I'm seeing is, if the bullet BCs are nearly identical and the velocities which they are driven at are nearly identical, they are going to exibit nearly identical trajectories.

Remember a BC is in effect a representation of how the bullet "flys" and it's ability to buck wind resistance.  You have equal BCs and equal velocities a bullet of .243caliber and a .440BC should have a similar trajectory as a 40caliber bullet with a .440BC so long as the velocities are similar.

Ofcourse one bullet is going to have a hell of a lot more retained energy down range because it's going to be a much heavier bullet.

When talking about the same caliber, say with a 223Rem and you are pushing a 40grn bullet with something like a .200BC at say 3600fps it sheds it's velocity very quickly as opposed to a long skinny 80grn bullet that has a BC up around .480-.520 and is moving at only 2700fps, at short range the 40grn bullet is flatter but around 400-500yds the 80grn bullet begins to show an advantage.