Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/30/2004 2:35:53 PM EDT
I've been hunting this buck for three years and I finally got a shot on him last night right at dark. He was 100 yards. I shot and he buckled and ran off.  I found hair and just a little blood.  We tracked him all night and today and nothing.  I know my knight muzzleloader is dead on.  I think these ballistic tip bullets I'm shooting zip right through the deer and don't expand at all.  I shot a doe the day before and there was just a clean hole and not much blood.  Any thoughts on why these plastic tips won't expand.  They are the only thing that groups well in my knight.

He made this one look like a baby.
Link Posted: 10/30/2004 2:39:32 PM EDT
[#1]
the plastic tips should be the most reliable in expansion......maybe the velocity isn't high enough, but I've never ever heard of ballistic tip types not expanding

and damn I'd be happy to get/see a buck like the one in the pic...bar none
Link Posted: 10/30/2004 2:40:28 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm shooting 150 grains of Triple 7 so is should be at or over 2000fps.
Link Posted: 10/30/2004 2:42:09 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

that's mz velocity right....what would be the vel. at 100yds....
Link Posted: 10/30/2004 2:43:30 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
I've been hunting this buck for three years and I finally got a shot on him last night right at dark. He was 100 yards. I shot and he buckled and ran off.  I found hair and just a little blood.  We tracked him all night and today and nothing.  I know my knight muzzleloader is dead on.  I think these ballistic tip bullets I'm shooting zip right through the deer and don't expand at all.  I shot a doe the day before and there was just a clean hole and not much blood.  Any thoughts on why these plastic tips won't expand.  They are the only thing that groups well in my knight.

He made this one look like a baby.
im1.shutterfly.com/procserv/47b3cf36b3127cce8215fbdaedff0000001610