Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/21/2004 8:30:41 AM EDT
I visited the Scottsdale Gun Club yesterday. When I first walked in the door I wanted to join, but after using the facilities, I changed my mind.

Before I list my gripes, I will say that this is easily a multi-million dollar indoor range.

1. NO DIRECTIONS on how to use digital the target track ( I have a degree in computers and it still took me 15 minutes to figure out how to use them)

2. There are NO RANGEMASTERS, For as many lanes as they have (at least 25) there is no one enforcing safety. Looking at some of the shooters habits, it is needed. Many loaded guns laying around, some on the floor (see below). Some of the shooters were obviously now familiar with gun safety.

3. There are NO TABLES to SAFELY case and uncase you rifles. I mean NONE. I had to put my case on the floor or try and balance the case on the little shooting table. When I asked why no tables, I was told that they had been asking the owner for some and he would not get any.

4. There is NO WHERE (rifle racks) to put a rifle after shooting it. Many of them were balanced along at the back of the shooting lanes on misc furniture. VERY UNSAFE since many of them looked to be loaded and could fall down at any minute and blow your ankle off.

Over all I think it is unfortunate since it is a VERY nice facility that this is being managed poorly. Especially from a safety standpoint.

Maxwell Hodgkins (Nattylite)
Link Posted: 10/21/2004 8:36:01 AM EDT
[#1]
good thing i know about scotts dale gun club.

In AZ, i presume?
Link Posted: 10/21/2004 8:37:55 AM EDT
[#2]
Yes Arizona
Link Posted: 10/21/2004 8:38:56 AM EDT
[#3]
seems to be a post better suited for our "Hometown" forum.
--RR
Link Posted: 10/21/2004 8:40:08 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
seems to be a post better suited for our "Hometown" forum.
--RR

True, but I wanted to vent and not very many people visit Hometown