Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 6/7/2001 9:23:01 PM EDT
Well, I've decided to follow in SteyrAug's footsteps, and make my relationship official.[:)]

My girlfriend and I have been together for about 2.5 years, so I've seen her through all the seasons and holidays, etc. We've been through a lot in those 2.5 years, and I know in my heart she's the one for me.
She's currently living in our house in CA with our dogs, while I pave the path here in AZ for our future.
I miss her a lot, She's the best friend I've ever had. We talk a few times a day by phone, and I see her every couple of weeks on the weekend. It's just not enough, for either of us.

Well, I've decided to take the relationship to the next level, and ask her to marry me. We've talked about it, and I know she'll say yes, but there's still that crazy feeling inside of me since I've never done anything like this before.

I have the ring that my Dad gave my Mom when he proposed to her. I plan to use the diamond from this ring, and have it re-set in a Platinum band, with a smaller diamond to each side of it.
She knows this is the ring she'll eventually get, but neither of us know the specifics of how it's going to happen.

[*]I'm not sure whether to give her the ring as it is, then we go together to a jeweler together to pick out exactly what we want the new ring to look like, Or if I should try to get it set how I think she would want it, then ask her.
It seems to make more sense to give her the ring as-is first, but is that too cheesy? To give someone a ring just so they'll be without it while the new one is being made?

Like I said, I've never done this before, and I'll hopefully never do it again, I just want to do it right.