Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/9/2004 10:27:12 AM EDT
This is a serious question I had my first police for a while opened it all the time, my method is holding it by the blade and tossing the handle out. (it makes for a real fast draw out of the pocket) Because the blade is the only piece you can reach.

the second one broke after I opened it 5 times

now I have my 3rd one, and I really like the knifes because how sharp they are (razor tip) and pointy great for poking threw clothing. (I rested it on my jeans and it went right through)

I am guessing the holding the blade method is why I broke 2 in a row??

any ideas?
Link Posted: 10/9/2004 10:31:51 AM EDT
[#1]
I don't understand - where does the blade break?
Link Posted: 10/9/2004 10:38:18 AM EDT
[#2]
I'm not a knife expert, but aren't you suppose to hold the knife by the handle, and put your thumb on the Sypder hold and push the blade out with your thumb? Holding it by the blade and using the weight of the handle to deploy your knife probably puts too much strain on the blade.
Link Posted: 10/9/2004 10:45:59 AM EDT
[#3]
What you're doing is (or very similar) to the "Spyderco pop" or something like that, can't remember the exact name, and AFAIR, it's encouraged by the folks at SP...

I opened my SPs MANY times like that and never had a problem...

Tried to contact Sal? He's alwsys helpfull to customers and might want to know that one of his designs beraks constantly if opened in certain way in JUST 5 times...

TO CLARIFY: what I'm referring to is grab the knife by the hole in the blade, and flick the handle open (as oposed as grrb the handle and flick the blade open)
Link Posted: 10/9/2004 10:47:53 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:

its actually not the blade that breaks its the spine lock, there is a small spring that breaks apart.
Link Posted: 10/9/2004 10:53:19 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:

Quoted: