Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/24/2004 10:35:23 PM EDT
Couple of quick questions on the DSA FAL -

1) Are the parts (namely furniture) interchangable between the DSA STG58s and the SA58s ?

2) What kind of accuracy can I expect with a FAL with match ammo (assuming I do my job) ?

Thanks.
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 10:40:53 PM EDT
[#1]
Try falfiles.com or the fal forum on here. I'm still a newbie on the fal.
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 10:43:48 PM EDT
[#2]
Yes the furniture will swap. I love my FAL but it is not a tack driver at all. Purchase a Bushy Varmiter or better for accuracy.

Probably 3" group is what you should expect without sinking an ungodly amount of money into a fal.

But by all means buy a fal, I still prefer the looks over my AR
Link Posted: 9/25/2004 6:32:11 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks folks.

What if you go with one of the free-floated DSA models ?
Any chance at better accuracy ?
Link Posted: 9/25/2004 6:36:02 AM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 9/25/2004 6:37:37 AM EDT
[#5]
unfortunately, those are not true free-floaters... the "free float" is clamped on near the end of the barrel where it joins the receiver in order to minimize flex. Some guys have suggested that the DSA "free float" actually decreases accuracy. I think at least one smith out there does custom make true free floaters. I would ask this guy here if you have questions about truely free floating a FAL

http://www.vandenbergcustom.com
Link Posted: 9/25/2004 6:55:24 AM EDT
[#6]
I have a preban SAR-48 which is pretty damn accurate, even with milsurp ammo. The DSA SA-58 carbine is not so accurate with it's 16" bbl. Very nice rifle though and I am going to run some match ammo thru it one day and see how it shoots with that.
I have a DSA PARA Congo with all the evil features on order now. That one has an 18" bbl. We'll see how it shoots when it gets here!
Link Posted: 9/25/2004 6:58:50 AM EDT
[#7]