Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/24/2004 6:26:27 AM EDT
Lying to a process server.

A hypothetical situation for the keyboard attorneys here:

Say a process server from the county shows up at an office to serve papers relative to a civil matter on a principal of the company. The receptionist is directed to lie to the process server and say that the subject principal is not in the office. Can the receptionist be charged with anything here? I can't see it as being obstruction, but I'm just a schmucky civil engineer.

Remember, this is a hypothetical situation and no advocacy of law-breaking is being implied, expressed or solicited.
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:27:53 AM EDT
[#1]
could possibly be construed to be Obstructing Justice... but that would only be for criminal cases... and it wouldn't be a process server showing up... it would be the po-po with a warrant...

*I am not a lawyer, and the above is my SWAG*
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:28:06 AM EDT
[#2]
I don't know but we had some similar visits a few years ago. I also told the truth and directed them to the receptionist.  
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:29:45 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:31:10 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
the cops can eat her pie, shoot her dog and she she can prohibited from badmouthing muslims for a period not to exceed 5 years.

Uh, oh. The hypothetical receptionist is nuts about her hypothetical dog. It's on now!
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:32:35 AM EDT
[#5]
We get people that lie all of the time to avoid being served. We'll catch up to them sooner or later.
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:32:39 AM EDT
[#6]

she she can prohibited from badmouthing muslims for a period not to exceed 5 years.

Now that's just plain harsh..........  
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:35:21 AM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:
We get people that lie all of the time to avoid being served. We'll catch up to them sooner or later.