Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 9/12/2004 12:42:52 PM EDT
I've met lots of cops who have a pretty dim view of humanity because they deal with the worst of it.  I've met EMTs that think that all motorcyclists will wind up splattered on the pavement because that's all they ever see.  
I've met ER doctors and nurses that take  a pretty dim view of the world because of the things they see.
Most people that work for .gov beaurocracies wind up pretty cynical about those sorts of things eventually.
Lots of old teachers are extremely cynical about the state of both today's youth, and the education systems.

On a different level, I work in the construction industry.  I am in commercial, but I am extremely cynical about residential construction because of the things I've seen.

Has your business made you cynical about anything?
Link Posted: 9/12/2004 12:45:52 PM EDT
[#1]
I have discovered that many people have zero work ethic. Sad.
Link Posted: 9/12/2004 12:47:32 PM EDT
[#2]
its really a matter of attitude over the long haul.  
no matter what you do, it affects the way you see things.

i work in a gov't job and yes i am cynical about gov't operations, so called "efficiency", etc.

Link Posted: 9/12/2004 12:48:23 PM EDT
[#3]
Ironically, the only people my profession has made me cynical about are the people IN my profession.

There's a disturbing number of incompetent assholes and arrogant posers among the ranks of "researchers" that wouln't know quality research if it bit them on the ass.  
Link Posted: 9/12/2004 12:58:24 PM EDT
[#4]
Truer Words Have never been Spoken  

Quoted:
Ironically, the only people my profession has made me cynical about are the people IN my profession.

There's a disturbing number of incompetent assholes and arrogant posers among the ranks of "researchers" that wouln't know quality research if it bit them on the ass.  

Link Posted: 9/12/2004 1:03:08 PM EDT