Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/2/2004 6:05:19 PM EDT
Well, tomorrow is going to be a bad day for me.  I will probably lose my job - at a minimum my boss is going to hate me.

Here is the deal.  I am in the National Guard, working full time at an aircraft hangar.  This job is completely separate from my NG unit, which I drill with one weekend a month, and two weeks a year, plus a Middle East deployment sooner or later.  Yesterday - as expected - my unit called me up and told me we would be activated in preparation for the onslaught of Hurricane Frances, and that I had to report in Friday night at 6 pm ready to go (tomorrow).  The same went for the other four members of my detachment, who are all culled together from separate units.  I am very much looking forward to the activation, and finally getting a chance to genuinely help people, which is what I have been training for for seven years.

The problem is, my chain-of-command at my full time Guard job are telling all five of us that we can't leave, that we are needed at the hangar as aircraft are ferried in from other places, to ride out the storm inside the hangar.  I already know from previous experience during Hurricane Charley three weeks ago that I will be useless, merely observing and standing guard over an empty parking lot.

Right now my full time Guard bosses are basically throwing up a smoke screen to keep us from reporting to our units tomorrow.  I am temporarily in charge, because my normal boss is on leave out of country, and is completely out of contact.  Therefore, his boss is pretty much trying to intimidate me into staying put, instead of reporting.  I am trying to coordinate with four different units to get concrete, written directives for the release of their troops with my left hand, and fending off angry phone calls from this guy with my right.