Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/1/2004 3:26:35 PM EDT
I'm a newbie to anything other then department store bikes.  I went to a bike shop and test rode a Specialized Hardrock and it blew me away !  I thought all this talk about getting a bike to fit you was just a way to charge more money. They want $240 for it. I also know a guy who is selling a Gary Fisher Marlin that is only a year old for $275. I know the guy and when he says he only rode it about 10 times I believe him. It still is under warranty from the bike shop for 4 more years.

Should I buy one of these bikes or are there some others out there I should consider for under $250 ?

Edited because I wrote the wrong bike name.
Link Posted: 9/1/2004 3:28:18 PM EDT
[#1]
no such thing.

Unless you buy used, but that is still really cheap for a good non-department store bike.
Link Posted: 9/1/2004 3:38:59 PM EDT
[#2]
I am not  a bike nut.  Nor very well versed in what they cost.  I do ride my mountain bike rarely.  But I think I got a fantastic deal on a  quality bike and probably the best way to buy one.

Go to a bike rental shop and ask if they are selling off any older inventory.  Since they are professionals they would have bought better quality stuff to stand up to renting.   And they have maintained it.  Probably get one for a lot less than $250.

But other than yard sales and stuff I don't think a quality bike is there for less than $250 news.

Link Posted: 9/1/2004 3:39:46 PM EDT
[#3]
Do you plan on riding off of paved roads and bike paths?

Link Posted: 9/1/2004 3:47:41 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 9/1/2004 3:49:53 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
no such thing.

sorry.

+1  agree with Campy!
Link Posted: 9/1/2004 3:50:01 PM EDT
[#6]
I have a Diamond-Back Sorrento Sport for sale .....  
Link Posted: 9/1/2004 5:21:23 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:

Bike paths and some trail riding is what I'd like to do.