Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/29/2003 6:09:22 AM EDT
Is ther any advantage, structurally, to using picture hangers vs just putting some screws or nails in your wall to hang heavy pictures/mirrors?

The material in question is standard textured sheetrock.

Thank you, gentlemen/ladies,

Tate
Link Posted: 12/29/2003 6:27:21 AM EDT
[#1]
While not being a picture hanger expert, my common sense tells me YES there is a difference.

I'd suspect that difference might be a cost savings, 'cus if ya hang it properly there will be less chance of having to replace the mirror or pic frame later, after it falls off the wall.

FWIW, on trophy mounts and heavy items I use stud-finder and make sure I'm into the stud, for added security, that whatever don't fall off the wall, (but then I live in Houston, where the gang-banger's car tunes go up to about a 4.0 in the Rickter scale, as they pass, shakin the whole house).

Mike  
Link Posted: 12/29/2003 6:27:58 AM EDT
[#2]
The idea on standard picture hangers is that the nail is at an angle, and the hanger itself ditributes some of the load over its contact area with the wall. Granted, the area is very samll, but certainly larger than the nail hole, to be sure. If you were to use a bare nail, even on an angle, over time the hole would become oblong as the sheetrock is crushed.

For really heavy loads, I usually use some type of anchor with a screw, or attach directly to the studs.
Link Posted: 12/29/2003 6:28:07 AM EDT
[#3]
The advantage is to your heavy pictures/mirrors, and to your toes, head, and various other body parts when they fall. The screws/nails will come out. Fasteners designed for sheetrock will last and hold well.

NMSight
Link Posted: 12/29/2003 6:44:49 AM EDT
[#4]