Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/27/2003 12:00:18 PM EDT
Can someone give me the chemical reaction (byproducts) when using baking soda to neutralize a weak sulfuric acid solution?  I want to change out my old anodizing bath and am too lazy to open up the old chem book.
Link Posted: 12/27/2003 12:39:46 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm a Chemical Engineer will that do?  Look here at the bottom of the page you'll see the reaction.  [url]http://www.chem.umn.edu/services/lecturedemo/info/EndothermicRXN.html[/url]You'll make a lot of CO2 gas and sodium sulfate (a harmless salt that will be invisibly dissolved in the remaining solution).  This is the same thing that happens when one neutralizes battery acid.  Add the bicarbonate very slowy to avoid foaming over.  Wear lots of protective gear against splashing.  When there's no more CO2 coming off add more Bicarb to be safe then you should be able to safely dispose of the now harmless solution.  Here's more tips. [url]http://www.ncnr.nist.gov/safety/acid.html[/url]  You may want to dissolve some of the Bicarb in water before adding to avoid the foaming reaction.   The more dilution you can do the safer.  Add the reagents together in very small quantities and very cautiously to avoid splashing reations (e.g. foaming).  
Link Posted: 12/27/2003 2:06:25 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted: