Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 8/23/2017 9:52:35 PM EDT
I've been seriously contemplating a pet lizard.

Have explored the possibility of several types, but leaning towards an iguana or tegu.

I have the time and space, and aren't worried about the possibility of being bitten, but would prefer a species that will eventually be tame.

I have no experience with lizards. We do have turtles, frogs, sheep and geese, so animal maintenance is already on the daily chore list.

Reptile people, thoughts?
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 9:54:51 PM EDT
[#1]
Bearded dragon,there isn't a better pet lizard.
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 9:55:24 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
View Quote
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 9:56:28 PM EDT
[#3]
20 years ago I had a pet iguana that was about 2 feet long. I used to sit on my porch and he would sunbathe on the front grass, did this a million times. One day he got spooked and ran up the neighbor's tree. Took me 4 fucking hours to get him down, I was about to cut down the tree. Don't be like me.
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 9:57:52 PM EDT
[#4]
Wife had a bearded dragon and I gav it a natural anole to hang out with. The anole must have carried some kind of wild pathogen and the dragon immediately died.
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 9:58:03 PM EDT
[#5]
I chat with a local Western Fence Lizard nearly every day.

Insightful little guy. He sure doesn't have much good to say about Geico. 

Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 9:59:10 PM EDT
[#6]
Lizards are what snakes eat.
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 10:02:42 PM EDT
[#7]
If you aren't worried about getting bit by those two, you haven't been or haven't seen it happen.

My advice for larger lizards;

Uromastix
Blue-tongue skink
Bearded dragon
Frilled lizard
Sungazer
Asian (captive bred only) or Australian water dragon
Chuckwalla
Link Posted: 8/23/2017 10:04:02 PM EDT
[#8]
Quoted:
View Quote
FPNI.