Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 3
Posted: 8/22/2017 5:32:38 PM EDT
I'm currently a Pipefitter apprentice (absolutely love it btw) and I'm running into a small problem in the field. According to our contract my employer is supposed to provide all power tools and most hand tools other than a small list we have to purchase on our own (they are supposed to replace these tools if they break or are lost though)
    For the past 3-4 weeks I've been carrying my own personal tools because the shop is currently "cash poor" and foremen in the field aren't able to get tools from the shop as easily as they used to.
        I've  been allowing my brother fitters to use my tools/work out of my bag, but it seems they're losing them/or accidentally pocketing them. I took inventory Friday and I'm missing ) $150-$200 in tools, I'm pissed. I take pride in my work and I've  invested over a grand in this tool bag and hand tools alone. I can't afford to keep replacing them as an apprentice. Having these tools is very convenient for me personally, I'd hate to stop bringing them in. Maybe I should downsize to a smaller  HVAC tech bag, though it won't hold nearly everything I need. Suggestions?
Current bag
Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

Smaller bag that doesn't really meet my needs.
Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 8/22/2017 5:34:57 PM EDT
[#1]
Those tools are an investment in how you make your living, stop loaning them out.
Link Posted: 8/22/2017 5:37:00 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Those tools are an investment in how you make your living, stop loaning them out.
View Quote
This.

And I'll refrain from bashing the union guys and how professional they are out of respect for your new career.
Link Posted: 8/22/2017 5:37:04 PM EDT
[#3]