Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/20/2017 10:25:43 AM EDT
I bought this thing off ebay knowing it would need some TLC.  That's not the issue.  The sling swivel is seized even after liberal application of WD40 (don't have any Kroil).  If I can get the pin out to remove the whole assembly, where can I get a replacement sling swivel or do I just need to mod it for a more modern swivel?

Also, can I just remove the rubber butt pad and put on an A2 butt plate? I'm no expert on old surplus A1 stocks.  It appears to be epoxied on? At least I can't find any screws holding it on.
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 10:35:32 AM EDT
[#1]
Did you try asking in the retro forum?

Those guys know all that stuff
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 10:38:43 AM EDT
[#2]
Sounds like you bought a type 'D' stock.  Just buy yourself a type 'E' A1 stock and be done with it.

This seller on gunbroker has quite a few type 'E' stocks.  Find a buttplate and sling swivel and you're good to go.  Or find a complete type 'E' stock and you're good to go.

Type 'E' A1 stock
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 10:39:40 AM EDT
[#3]
Are you talking about a trapdoor or non-trap door stock?
Link Posted: 4/20/2017 10:46:12 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
I bought this thing off ebay knowing it would need some TLC.  That's not the issue.  The sling swivel is seized even after liberal application of WD40 (don't have any Kroil).  If I can get the pin out to remove the whole assembly, where can I get a replacement sling swivel or do I just need to mod it for a more modern swivel?

Also, can I just remove the rubber butt pad and put on an A2 butt plate? I'm no expert on old surplus A1 stocks.  It appears to be epoxied on? At least I can't find any screws holding it on.
View Quote

Many people have tried to remove the roll pin that holds the sling swivel in place and have cracked their stocks.  The rubber butt pad is glued in place and will not accept an A2 butt plate.