Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/2/2015 11:22:41 AM EDT
What is it with needing a copy of my resume in Word? Why are PDF's such an issue?

I work as a contractor and am changing my career somewhat. I'm flipping my resume out to a couple of companies to line up on some projects that'll be kicking off after the first of the year and half or better of the people I've sent resumes to want me to send them another copy in Word.

I'm starting to think that I may need to cross anyone who does that off my list, unless I really want or need the job.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 11:24:41 AM EDT
[#1]
Me, I don't give a crap.  I don't see the issue here.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 11:27:17 AM EDT
[#2]
Some companies have systems to import the data from your resume into a searchable database (or similar).  Unless their systems are able to convert your PDF into something editable, it's useless to them.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 11:27:24 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Me, I don't give a crap.  I don't see the issue here.
View Quote

Thank you for your insightful input.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 11:27:32 AM EDT
[#4]
If someone can't manage to install adobe reader on their computer, not sure I want to work for them.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 11:31:29 AM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
Some companies have systems to import the data from your resume into a searchable database (or similar).  Unless their systems are able to convert your PDF into something editable, it's useless to them.
View Quote

That's the thing, I'm sending my resume directly to a person (not a headhunter) for a specific job. I'm not uploading to a website and these are small companies with 50 employees or less total. There isn't some big corporate chain to run this stuff through.

It's just weird.
Link Posted: 9/2/2015 11:33:05 AM EDT
[#6]