Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/28/2014 1:41:01 PM EDT
Hey guys I'm trying to plan a day to go out pheasant hunting. I'm new to hunting and just got my hunter's ed done last year. This will be my first hunting trip and I was wondering if you guys had any tips or advice for a first timer? I live in the Denver area and I'm considering driving out east to some of the walk in areas. Thanks.
Link Posted: 11/28/2014 2:03:06 PM EDT
[#1]
Get a good dog.

Have fun!
Link Posted: 11/28/2014 2:04:43 PM EDT
[#2]
This year was my first time going also.

It is A LOT more fun/easier if you have a (good) dog.

Link Posted: 11/28/2014 2:09:46 PM EDT
[#3]
If you don't have a dog (or don't have a good dog), look for small areas that would channel birds to somewhere they'd want to take flight (open fields, etc.); and walk and stop.  If you pause every so often, it works to make birds nervous so they won't just hold while you walk past.

Get practiced at bringing your gun up fast to surprises... it's easy to think nothing's coming after a some long walks.  I shot over two birds this year because they came up when I wasn't expecting them and I didn't shoulder the gun properly because I had almost no time to shoot.

If you have a bad dog, leave it in the truck.  I went hunting with someone one time with an undisciplined dog and got to watch it flush birds 100 yards away that we could've walked up on and taken otherwise.
Link Posted: 11/28/2014 2:15:37 PM EDT
[#4]
Be sure of what's behind your bird. They move pretty fast. Around here the management areas get real dangerous during pheasant season.
Good luck.
Link Posted: 11/28/2014 2:20:16 PM EDT
[#5]
It's frustrating, pheasant is delicious and you need a Springer Spaniel

Link Posted: 11/28/2014 2:45:09 PM EDT
[#6]