Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/2/2014 3:16:40 PM EDT
I see china just tested a new icbm mobile launcher.  Had me wondering if we have some in service,  or were those scrapped?
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:18:06 PM EDT
[#1]

Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:18:34 PM EDT
[#2]
There were plans for road-mobile ICBMs as well as rail-based, but neither were ever implemented in the US.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:20:33 PM EDT
[#3]
FPNI
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:22:24 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
There were plans for road-mobile ICBMs as well as rail-based, but neither were ever implemented in the US.
View Quote

Not really sure what the need for such a thing would be. Granted, I'm no expert, but it would seem our subs could park missiles pretty much anywhere we needed them.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:22:39 PM EDT
[#5]

Pretty much.

With the ability to have a shit load of ICBMs hidden in the oceans which covers more than 50% of the earth. Why make a land launcher?
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:23:38 PM EDT
[#6]
I think any of the mexican roach coaches out here that sell taquitos should qualify as miniature mobile ICBM launchers, but that's about it
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:28:06 PM EDT
[#7]
The initial deployment plan for MX was on mobile launchers on dedicated "race tracks", moving from one hardened shelter to another.  After cost data was analyzed the idea was shelved and they went into fixed silo's for their short service life.
Link Posted: 10/2/2014 3:52:56 PM EDT
[#8]
Quoted:

Not really sure what the need for such a thing would be. Granted, I'm no expert, but it would seem our subs could park missiles pretty much anywhere we needed them.
View Quote View All Quotes
View All Quotes
Quoted:
Quoted:

You get much of the advantage of an air breather, with comparitive cost of a large truck.

ICBMs have advantages of rapid response and throwweight.