Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/22/2013 5:58:33 AM EDT
I am thinking of buying some Silver dollars and was wondering about those generic silver rounds that are widely available.
I know they have no collector value and since they have the same silver content as the silver eagles is their any other advantage of getting the government minted coins vs a generic of the same silver content??
I own some old silver coins my late mother left me that consist of dimes and a few 1922 peace dollars but other than that I am new to this.
Link Posted: 10/22/2013 6:01:11 AM EDT
[#1]
I try to get the most silver for my money. Generic rounds are fine
Link Posted: 10/22/2013 6:01:30 AM EDT
[#2]
You will get better prices selling an Am. Eagle over a generic bullion round.  Plus they are just much cooler.  
In my opinion, stick with Am. Eagles and Morgan/Peace dollars.  You will be happier in the long run.
Link Posted: 10/22/2013 6:03:43 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
You will get better prices selling an Am. Eagle over a generic bullion round.  Plus they are just much cooler.  
In my opinion, stick with Am. Eagles and Morgan/Peace dollars.  You will be happier in the long run.
View Quote

Why exactly would you get more for the eagle than the generic if the silver content is the very same?
I could understand if it was a rare coin.
Link Posted: 10/22/2013 6:04:00 AM EDT
[#4]
I like to stick with easily identifiable bullion.  Although anything can be counterfeited, when selling it is easier to move Eagles, and Canadian Maples.

Maples are available for a lower price over spot, so I think that's a better deal for the price sensitive.

Once/if you have a large amount of silver, you can start considering 10 and 100oz bars for the lowest acquisition price.
Link Posted: 10/22/2013 6:04:54 AM EDT
[#5]
Quoted: