Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/7/2002 9:45:18 PM EDT
Of course there had to be insult to injury, now that my piece of shit truck is acting up again even after all of the $1300 in repairs.

In the morning it is very hard to start. It has to be cranked about 5 times to turn the engine over.

The negative battery clamp bolt has corroded away for the 2nd time even after spraying anti-corrosion crap on it. Already spent $20 in parts to replace the cable.

After driving for about 10 minutes and switching off, the car still has a slight hesitation in starting but not like in the morning.

I am almost positive that it is the battery but I am not a mechanic. It is supposed to be one of those maintanence free models and the eye on it is still green, but it is nearing 9 years old.

What should I do?
Link Posted: 8/7/2002 9:50:16 PM EDT
[#1]
Hard starting could be a lot of things, but the first thing I would check is the ignition timing. Also, check for a poorly functioning choke. Could also just not be getting enough fuel. What year, make and model is the truck?
Link Posted: 8/7/2002 9:53:02 PM EDT
[#2]
9 year old battery? I surprised it would turn on the dome light. Replacing that would be a good place to start.
Link Posted: 8/7/2002 9:58:13 PM EDT
[#3]
It is a 1994 ranger.

When I took it in the first time to get the AC motor replaced they said it wouldn't start and told me they had to replace 3 relays.
Link Posted: 8/7/2002 10:00:44 PM EDT
[#4]
... Cut your losses and buy a new, reliable truck man!
Link Posted: 8/7/2002 10:12:17 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted:
... Cut your losses and buy a new, reliable truck man!
View Quote

I second that.  At this time especially, trucks are cheap.

Keving67
Link Posted: 8/7/2002 10:39:55 PM EDT
[#6]
Damn Imbroglio ya sound like me! If ya didn't have any bad luck you wouldn't have any luck at all! Sorry to hear it.
Link Posted: 8/7/2002 10:48:08 PM EDT
[#7]