Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/27/2002 11:16:41 PM EDT
when that bomber flew into it back in the 40s I think it was? That was a big plane filled with fuel. You would think buildings of older construction would collapse easier than buildings of newer construction. So how come?
Link Posted: 6/27/2002 11:30:12 PM EDT
[#1]
I'm not an expert on WWII bombers, but if I remember right, the WWII was a medium size bomber, and is probably a whole bunch smaller than the 747s that struck the WTC/Pentagon.
Link Posted: 6/27/2002 11:32:23 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 6/27/2002 11:34:53 PM EDT
[#3]
What kind of bomber was it? B17? B24? B29!?

Even the biggest of these three is not much compared to a 747 flying at top speed. Another thing to consider is the amount of fuel. 747's carry alot more!
Link Posted: 6/27/2002 11:38:00 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 6/27/2002 11:41:48 PM EDT
[#5]
I think that was a B-17, right? Probably not at full throttle, low fuel levels(?). Less mass? Just guessing.

But I saw a show on the Discovery channel that described the methods utilized to build the WTC. It was a light weight steel construction utilizing an external frame. Light weight steel would probably not stand up too well to direct flame impingement. At least not as well as the big steel used in the Empire State building. When the light steel failed it started a chain reaction collapse which increased in speed and scope until the building essentially, for lack of a better term, liquefied.

Does jet fuel burn a lot hotter than 110-120 octane aviation fuel?

Yes, new construction is superior in many ways but when it comes to unleashing big energy on components, I think the big component will take more abuse.

Of course, everything I just said is just a guess and an engineer would better answer this question.
Link Posted: 6/27/2002 11:58:50 PM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 6/27/2002 11:59:22 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted: