Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/2/2011 10:48:34 AM EDT
I'm not sure on the numbers, but people say that 50% of americans do not pay any federal taxes.  Under 999, 50% of americans would bring home 9% less and then have an additional 9% tax on whatever new goods they purchased.  Am I missing something here?  

Now, I am one of the 50% who does not pay any federal taxes (I am a college student and my wife and I take home about $30,000 a year total) so my taxes will go up.  I am ok with this because I don't believe that the current system of half the people paying all the taxes is fair.  However, most people in my situation are not going to think the same thing.  How do you defend this to them?  Do you say that the economy will improve under this plan and that they will have better paying jobs available?  Or do you just tell them it is more fair?

P.S. As of right now I am a Cain supporter.
Link Posted: 10/2/2011 10:51:59 AM EDT
[#1]
I hope it's just a way to transition to the fair tax.  It's still far better than what we have now.

ETA-  I'm tarded....  just read through it on his website.    All for it.  
Link Posted: 10/2/2011 10:52:23 AM EDT
[#2]
It seems more fair to me because EVERYONE would be paying the same rate. It's not perfect, but I think it's a great way to transition over to a Fair Tax type of system. (FYI I fall in the same tax bracket as the OP since I'm a full time student).
Link Posted: 10/2/2011 10:52:31 AM EDT
[#3]
While not being particularly familiar with Cain's plan but with a passing knowledge of other tax reforms that have come to pass or nearly have in this country, I'd say that there will be savings (real or imagined) somewhere else that will allow the little man to "get on board", and that the bulk of revenue will still be coming from the upper class and perhaps by removing certain avenues for businesses/ the very rich to "tax dodge".