Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/2/2011 7:41:16 AM EDT
I've been using AMEX for many years and have found it to be a good card for miles but now it looks like there are many more (and possibly even better) options out there.  Chase Sapphire and Capital One Venture have some pretty good programs in particular.  I'm just trying to figure out what the 'catch' is with these cards but they seem to be pretty straightforward with no hassles or gimmicks.

ETA:  I don't carry a balance so APRs don't really mean anything to me.  I just use CCs so that I don't have to carry cash around.

Summary of benefits:
Chase Sapphire
Earn 50,000 bonus points after you spend $3,000 in the first 3 months (which I will do no problem)
2 points per dollar spent on travel and dining & 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
Earn a 7% annual points dividend - even on points already redeemed
First year free.  $95 afterwards.

Capital One Venture
Earn 25,000 bonus miles, equal to $250 in travel
2 miles per dollar on every purchase, every day
No limit on the miles you can earn and miles won't expire
Fly free on any airline, any time with no blackout dates
$0 intro annual fee for the first year; $59 after that

To me, the Captial One Venture looks like the better choice in the long run.  I say in the long run b/c the Chase Sapphire gives you that 50k point bonus right up front (vs 25k with the Capital One).  But the 2 points for every dollar on every purchase every day looks way better.  I'm just trying to figure out if those points are going to be harder to spend or if there's any other catch that I'm not seeing.
Link Posted: 10/2/2011 7:45:22 AM EDT
[#1]
AMEX Green.

Those sound good now.

AMEX has been very consistent over the years in keeping their terms the same.  That's something they even market.  With AMEX you can turn those points into just about anything with hardly any red tape.