Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/1/2011 6:39:55 AM EDT
The friend is a doctor btw.

I was out to dinner a few weeks back with a friend who brought along his buddy, an Opthalmomogist. Somehow the discussion turned to nutrition, etc and vitamins were mentioned. The Opthalmologist said in sum and substance that taking a daily multivitamin without simultaneously eating is pointless, as you will piss the vitamins out without absorbing them into your system.

This makes no sense to me, however I'm not a doctor.

I pose the question to the hive. If I pop a multivitamin in the morning with just a cup of coffee, am I wasting my time?

I know we have doctors here, sound off lads!
Link Posted: 10/1/2011 6:48:32 AM EDT
[#1]
My doctor buddy calls vitamins "Expensive Urine".
Link Posted: 10/1/2011 6:50:39 AM EDT
[#2]
vitamins digest better in the presence of actual food.  at a minimum, at least drink a glass of milk with a vitamin.  My teacher went over this in my nutrition class, and I've heard the same from several different doctors at well.
Link Posted: 10/1/2011 6:52:11 AM EDT
[#3]
Who am I to argue with the experts?
Link Posted: 10/1/2011 6:52:14 AM EDT
[#4]
If you take them without food, you just piss them out.
Link Posted: 10/1/2011 6:53:11 AM EDT
[#5]
Most vitamins aren't really that soliable.  I've had them pointed out to me on some of my old x-rays.  Little white specks in the intestines.   The Dr is saying that because  the extra volume of acid, and the extra amount of soak time should help break down those tough tablets.  Best to find the gummie vitamins and eat those.
Link Posted: 10/1/2011 6:54:14 AM EDT
[#6]

Quoted: