Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 5/29/2002 3:11:59 PM EDT
Right now I am a Desktop Support Technician.
Replacing any, and all hardware of desktops, laptops, and printers. Installing and resolving problems with Windows OS and applications.
I can't find a job in this field, seems like there are 100 to 1, programmer jobs to hardware support.

My question for all you programmers out there is, what is the best language and easiest to learn, to get in on the ground level or as an entry level programmer.

What kind of time frame, are we talking about to become proficient, and hired as entry level?
Link Posted: 5/29/2002 3:15:59 PM EDT
[#1]
Oh, I haven't posted here in awhile, OK a long while. I emailed and tried to get my password reset, but never heard anything. So I reregistered.

Some of you may remember my name or know me from other boards.

Thanks for any help.
Link Posted: 5/29/2002 3:20:44 PM EDT
[#2]
Start with VB.NET. It's easy to learn and the framework is comparable, if not better than Java. VB is easy to read and the concepts are fairly easy to grasp.

I am sure there will be more techie purists who jump on here and tell you to skip the MS platform in lieu of harder, or more obscure languages. You can always go there, but there is a huge demand for VB and especially .NET.

If you want to make life harder on yourself with a longer learning curve, then jump into C++ or Java. The demand is there for both of these too and they are (theoretically) cross platform. But the leaerning curve is a lot longer and takes a while to become productive.

There are other, more obscure alternatives like Python or even scripting platforms like PHP(or PHP/GTK). But there are few toolsets to accelerate your learning curve and support is less available.