Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/15/2002 5:04:49 PM EDT
For various reasons I am very interested in getting started with reloading. Cost of ammo, a reliable supply if needed and pure hobby are my main reasons for starting. I have no experience with reloading at all....so would someone please tell me everything I need to buy in order to be able to start loading my own rounds? Since I am new, I want to be safe above all things...so something relatively inexpensive and easy to use would be fine with me. Also, what reloading manuals do you folks rely on the most? Any and all answers will be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Oh, and BTW, I plan to mainly load pistol and rifle cartridges.
Link Posted: 5/15/2002 5:12:52 PM EDT
[#1]
Suggest you start over on the reloading forum. My self and others try to answer reloading questions there. You will find a lot of usefull info there.

Just to get you started though I's suggest you get a good reloading manual, like the Lyman, and start reading it. Pistol is easier to reload than rifle, so I'd suggest you start with some straight walled pistol caliber. I find 45 ACP a very forgiving caliber.
Link Posted: 5/15/2002 5:48:39 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 5/15/2002 7:08:15 PM EDT
[#3]
ChargingHandle,I must agree with thebeekeeper on the RCBS kit,as for books other than the Speer book that'll come with it.I'd get all that you can afford,starting with Hornady and Accurate Arms has a new one that I like.Also you should go to dillonprecision.com and order a catalog...lots of good stuff.If your interested you can e-mail me,I'll give you some recepies that I use.
Link Posted: 5/16/2002 3:58:03 AM EDT
[#4]
Charging,

Here is what I recommend:

- Call Dillon at 1-800-762-3845 and ask for their catalog;