Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/12/2002 1:32:55 PM EDT
seems that a steel (or any metal or hard) trauma plate could cause a problem as well as offer protection.  a bullet hitting a metal surface has a chance of ricocheting correct?  possibly up into the face region?  seems this could really only happen if hit at an angle from the bottom towards the face, but could still happen?  prolly worth the risk to have more protection over the heart though?

thanks

Link Posted: 5/12/2002 1:44:59 PM EDT
[#1]
DUDE,

you have your vest on inside out![shock]

the trauma plate is under many layers of material that prevents bullet splatter and ricochets.

Link Posted: 5/12/2002 1:45:57 PM EDT
[#2]
not to sound paranoid but I wear a hard trauma plate [b]WITH[/b] a soft trauma pad on top! this is all on top of a level II vest.

Link Posted: 5/12/2002 1:49:36 PM EDT
[#3]
no kiddin. well i am new to this, just didnt realize.  looks like some body armor just has a pocket in the front to slip a plate in.  this pocket has kevlar on the outside of it?
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 1:55:33 PM EDT
[#4]
The big problem with trauma plates is having to tape them to your back.
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 2:43:53 PM EDT
[#5]
Some vests have the trauma plate pocket on the outside of the kevlar, sprectra etc, some have it on the inside.

They now have soft trauma plates that are either semi-rigid or flexible. These are effective.

The hard plates, some were titanium, will have a better chance stopping a knife attack. An ice pick or penetrating weapon will defeat the vest but not a hard plate.

Link Posted: 5/12/2002 2:52:28 PM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 2:53:08 PM EDT
[#7]
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 4:44:32 PM EDT
[#8]
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 5:06:17 PM EDT
[#9]
Quoted:
View Quote

If the trauma plate is taped to your back, where do you tape your backup guns to?
Link Posted: 5/12/2002 5:10:46 PM EDT
[#10]