Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/23/2002 1:44:55 PM EDT
I have some family photos of a semi-famous inlaw and I wondering how I could protect these images.

How is it done??
Link Posted: 4/23/2002 1:49:45 PM EDT
[#1]
First, I'll assume that you do, in fact, hold the copyright to the photos of your "semi-famous inlaw." Then, to digitally protect it, it all depends upon what software you have.

As a photographer, I use Photoshop. I use a Digimarc ([url]www.digimarc.com[/url]) plug-in that lets me easily embed my copyright information. The nice thing about Digimarc is that it's a suite of products and services -- including a spider that searches the web for violations.

I'm not sure but I believe Digimarc's plug-ins are compatible with other imaging software. Best bet is to check directly with them.

Good luck.
Link Posted: 4/23/2002 1:55:55 PM EDT
[#2]
I second ronin47. I use Digimark on my photos. It works great.

Av.
Link Posted: 4/23/2002 2:06:53 PM EDT
[#3]
Yes, I do hold the copyrights to the photos.

I was considering posing a better [url=http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=11206]picture[/url] to a web site which has some info about him.

The problem is that my mother-in-law is very, very sensitive about "her dirty laundry" getting out, as the family member is her father. He was not known for doing [i]humanitarian work[/i].

I have some really good, clear photos but she doesn't want them all over the internet. Maybe one or two at the most.
Link Posted: 4/23/2002 3:08:16 PM EDT
[#4]