Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/23/2001 9:25:56 AM EDT
Got stoped by the D.O.T. yesterday.
I drive a car carrier for a living. 9 car Peterbilt. I was going west thru central Iowa heading for Des Moines. The cop was going the other direction, saw me and made a quick flip thru the median and came and got me. I kinda thought I knew what he was stoping me for and really expected a hard time. Car carriers are allowed a 4 ft. overhang in the rear I had a 5 ft. overhang plus several other infractions. He only got me for the overhang he could have had me for so much more. I guess the point of this post is this was THIS COP WAS TOO COOL. we had several other conversations not having to do with the stop, a very good guy.
I do believe he knew about the other infractions but chose not to mention them.
1, High fifth wheel with a head rack over 65 ft. actual length 77 1/2 ft, A very big no no in Iowa.
2, traveling a secondary road to bypass a state weigh station. Also a very big no no in Iowa.
3, any other small thing that the D.O.T. is so famous for finding.
O.K. my point is do you have any GOOD COP STORIES?
Link Posted: 3/23/2001 6:37:26 PM EDT
[#1]
If I got a full ticket every time I was pulled over, I wouldn't have a license now.  I've recieved 2 BS tickets in my life, but weighed against the many that I didn't get, it just shows that there are a lot of cool cops out there.
Link Posted: 3/23/2001 6:47:21 PM EDT
[#2]
If I ever got what I really deserved out of life, I'd be serving life without parole. :)

Yes, there are a lot of very good cops out there. Too bad the few bad ones spoil it for all of them. Rather like gun owners, I'd say, no?
Link Posted: 3/23/2001 7:27:53 PM EDT
[#3]