Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/1/2002 8:53:56 AM EDT
ok guys and gals.......here is the dilemma..i hope someone can help.

i have searched as best i can to no avail on the internet on sites such as florida department of labor, and megalaw.com, etc.

i am a manager in a retail store, and we have an ongoing management/employee debate regarding required rest/meal breaks during a work shift.

i am already aware that there is NO federal law requiring said breaks, but i do know that florida has a state law regarding the granting of lunch breaks, but no "rest breaks."

my main point of interest is the following:  how many hours does an employee have to work before i am required to give them a "meal break," AND (very important) do the hours have to be worked consecutively?

for example:  if John is scheduled to work from 5pm to 11:30pm, is he entitled by law to a "meal break?"  also, if my company decides to give people 10 minute "rest breaks" does this interrupt the required timeline for his/her "meal break?"

my understanding is there is a 4 hour work requirement for a "meal break."  if i give him/her a 10 minute break anywhere prior to the end of 4 consecutive hours, does that mean i dont HAVE to give a "meal break?"

if possible, please include any applicable web links in your responses, as i need to take this to work, and shove it down my bosses throat!

sorry for being so longwinded and repetitive, not to mention all the ""  [:)]
Link Posted: 4/1/2002 9:15:15 AM EDT
[#1]
Instead of worrying about what you have to give them.Why dont you give them whats fair.Would you like to work 6 hours without sitting down once,or eating.don't let them abuse it either.I care about the 5 people who work for me.I dont bird dog them and they make me money.
Link Posted: 4/1/2002 9:27:13 AM EDT
[#2]