Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 11/19/2014 7:24:23 PM EDT
I got a single Merkur blade with the Merkur 34c I bought but it seemed to get dull at around 3 shaves. Even being a novice I noticed that something had changed and tossed the blade.

Switched it out for a Feather last night and for the first time I cut myself, multiple times. Besides that it irritated the rest of my skin afterwards while still using the same razor and shaving soap.

What else is out there thats a good idea to try and see?
Link Posted: 11/19/2014 7:26:17 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 11/19/2014 8:52:32 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
I got a single Merkur blade with the Merkur 34c I bought but it seemed to get dull at around 3 shaves. Even being a novice I noticed that something had changed and tossed the blade.

Switched it out for a Feather last night and for the first time I cut myself, multiple times. Besides that it irritated the rest of my skin afterwards while still using the same razor and shaving soap.

What else is out there thats a good idea to try and see?
View Quote

Feathers are great for a heavy beard, but they can be too aggressive for some.

Check out this page for info on some common blades.  It gave me a good starting point when I made the switch.  http://www.shaving101.com/index.php/education/double-edge-shaving/48-choosing-the-right-blade.html
Link Posted: 11/21/2014 1:35:04 PM EDT
[#3]
I really like the Personna red pack blades.  They're all I've used in years.  I hear a lot of folks like Astras.  Merkur blades are not well reviewed at all.
Link Posted: 11/22/2014 6:22:36 AM EDT
[#4]
+1 on Personna reds. Also give Dorco ST301's a try.
Link Posted: 11/24/2014 3:48:34 AM EDT
[#5]
I like Derby and Astra blades.
Link Posted: 11/24/2014 4:52:34 PM EDT
[#6]
I switch between Astra SP and Voskhod. Both are available on Amazon in 100 ct. packs.
Link Posted: 11/24/2014 5:22:44 PM EDT
[#7]
youtube search for palm stropping