Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page General » Pets
Posted: 10/23/2010 4:20:18 PM EDT

Cat novice here with a few questions!

The wife wants me to buy more flea medicine for the cats (we have 2 of average size).   The problem is that i don't remember what kind I bought or where I bought it online.

Is there any kind that is best/worst, and where is the best place to buy it?    Do indoor cats need flea medicine this time of the year?

Thanks!
Link Posted: 10/24/2010 5:02:06 AM EDT
[#1]
Indoor only: Frontline.

Indoor/outdoor: Frontline plus a good flea/tick collar.
Link Posted: 10/24/2010 6:21:42 AM EDT
[#2]
I just tried this stuff and it works awesome! As soon as I sprayed it on my dogs and cats I literally saw the fleas die and fall off instantly. Its all natural and non toxic

http://www.cedarcidestore.com/catalog/item/3571008/5094558.htm
Link Posted: 10/24/2010 11:44:50 PM EDT
[#3]
The cedarcide looks interesting. I've been concerned about the "spot-on" treatments, and discussed this with the veterinarians. FWIW, they said the problems have been mainly with the over the counter/non-prescription spot treatments.

I used Advantage on my dearly departed cat for probably 15 years w/o problems. He lived to be 21.

I now use Revolution, which is simvermectin, on my two 3-year old cats. It is a prescription anti-parasitic medication given as a spot-on treatment once a month. It kills fleas, as well as most intestinal parasites and ear mites. My cats have had no apparent ill effects from it.

I will give the cedarcide a look, though.
Link Posted: 10/25/2010 10:46:39 AM EDT
[#4]
tagged. my mother claims to have been bitten by fleas while visiting my house. Never mind the fact that neither I, nor my wife have been bitten, and we live here...
Link Posted: 10/26/2010 4:17:18 AM EDT
[#5]
1800PetMeds