Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/23/2017 11:27:21 PM EDT
Newbie here, but a long time lurker, But have been in the service and repair end of electrical and Hvac for thirty five years.
I have seen just about everything , and then tomorrow comes and Damn if I dont learn something new. To quite honest I have seen alot of Shit out there and some of it is not pretty !

Enter the do it your self guy.  crawling down in the crawl space to add his own ice maker water line for his new refrigerator... simple enough right?   WRONG !  The water line had a  bad heat tape wrapped around it thirty feet away.
His wife got to wondering why it was taking him so long .

Recently a general contractor was working on Air Conditioning unit, Believe it or not,  it was One of those so called simple Capacitor change outs you read about here , or see on Youtube ,  High Fail Item...Easy to change ...  Save Some Cash !   Had  just enough time to tell his  home owner buddy... Damn This Thing Bites !   Never even knew his own heart had just stopped !

Like I said I have been in the business thirty five years , and have seen, and been thru some shit... It is out there just waiting to  Kill You !   If your are not sure...Dont Fuck With It !   The people giving advice are not there and actual  circumstances do not apply !   Murphys Law Does !!!

If you still insist on saving a few dollars ...  Read and follow label directions.
Link Posted: 8/24/2017 9:09:43 AM EDT
[#1]
Am I understanding this right:  the DIYer bridged the contacts on a start capacitor?  What would have been a better way to fix this problem?

FYI--Per the COC, If you post when drunk, you're supposed to add a little beer mug emoji.
Link Posted: 8/24/2017 9:50:39 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: