Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/17/2012 4:11:09 PM EDT
I'm still fairly new at welding, but my confidence level is pretty high. I want to build a smoker, and a very heavy duty one at that.
I'm going to building it out of 1/4 plate. I only have grinders, and an 8" milwaukee metal cutting circular say at this point in time to
cut metal with. So I am going to be making it all with square cuts. I havn't decided on a design yet, but I am going to do a little practice
on some scrap that I have laying around. Here is my question.

When I'm welding a box together how should I make the joint? Here are the 2 ways I am contemplating.

1. just a straight 90 degree I guess it would be a T joint. and just weld the inside.

2. offset, and weld the outside gap, and some 1" runs on the inside spaced out every few inches.

Not sure which way is the best, or the correct way.

Pic of the new saw just because.

Link Posted: 11/17/2012 4:16:45 PM EDT
[#1]
Choice #2 is correct.

Choice #1 would work fine in a BBQ.

Tack all the pieces together before you weld it or the parts will not stay square.
Link Posted: 11/17/2012 6:05:30 PM EDT
[#2]
Yes, pic 2 is correct.  I would go with a flat weld as opposed to an up or down.  Should be pretty easy as you can flip the box where you need it to do the flats.  Best of luck.
Link Posted: 11/18/2012 6:39:12 AM EDT
[#3]
Guides for different processes and other reference materials: http://www.millerwelds.com/resources/

Multiple BBQ projects: http://www.millerwelds.com/interests/projects/ideagallery/lawn-garden/

Highley recommended calculator set: http://www.millerwelds.com/resources/tools/#calculators
Link Posted: 11/18/2012 7:34:55 AM EDT
[#4]
Either will do.

Personally, I prefer #2, and see no need to have 1 inch runs on the inside. With # 2, you have nice valley to lay your weld in, and can make your welds look good. If you don't want your welds exposed, go with #1.