Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/1/2008 12:28:33 PM EDT
Hello. I'm new to this particular form, and have been lurking in "religion" for awhile. Well, I'm almost 18, and have attended church as a child, and after falling away a little bit started attending again in highschool.

Now, my friends who got me back into the church, have always encouraged me to study the bible. Now, I wasn't exactly sure how they go about it, but they could always rattle off a few select verses (John 3:16 for example), but would never really "dig deep" into moral issues or explain their memorized verses in the context of the time they were written.

Now being my usual boring historical self, I just read the whole Bible cover to cover. However, now that I'm talking about my beliefs more to my friends with less faith, and to a number of mildy interested athiets, I find that my ability to tell some biblical stories in context seem less important than actual bible verses, so I'm just curious, to those of you who memorize scripture, how do you go about it?

Thanks in advanced!

C.C.
Link Posted: 6/1/2008 4:06:58 PM EDT
[#1]
I always pray before I read the bible.  Also the bible that I have has footnotes so that I can cross-reference different books/verses.  The hardest part for me is the old-school style that its written in, so I end up reading the same versus over and over again.  As for memorizing scripture I am not very good at it.

Good luck in your searching, I hope I have been of some help to you.
Link Posted: 6/1/2008 5:44:43 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Hello. I'm new to this particular form, and have been lurking in "religion" for awhile. Well, I'm almost 18, and have attended church as a child, and after falling away a little bit started attending again in highschool.