Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/18/2006 12:36:44 PM EDT
I was thinking about all the different tangibles you can buy that will retain value and appreciate. Do any of you think it would be smart to invest in guns, and if so, which ones will appreciate the most in the next several years. I know none of you have a crystal ball, but I was wondering what the consensus is on buying firarms for investment purposes. If not those, what are some other objects that will surely appreciate over time?
Investment NOOB here

Thanks in advance

Tac
Link Posted: 3/18/2006 3:52:02 PM EDT
[#1]
Consider investments in firearms in the same vein as other collectibles.
Link Posted: 3/21/2006 8:12:00 PM EDT
[#2]
The only time I would invest in a gun is for a short time.  If I found one in the paper or a friend was selling to get some quick cash and I knew I could turn around the next day and sell it for profit, then I would surely do so.  If you are new to investing, I would start with a book written by a well known investor to learn, or even consult with an investing professional to "get your feet wet".  After that, I would start doing my own investing online.  I do mine through Fidelity.  IMO, I would start with a Roth IRA, it will give you flexibility to invest in alomost any market instrument and will help aid in your retirement income.
Link Posted: 3/28/2006 8:44:27 PM EDT
[#3]
Don't think of them as investments, but as use assets, like a car, house, etc...  I have a C&R and can get K31's for under $100 bucks.  What will they be worth in 40 years when I retire?  Who knows..  But they're fun to shoot, show off to friends, and are (to me) a work of art.  If each of them is worth $500 then, I'll be happy.