Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/25/2006 6:22:19 PM EDT
I am in a rather unique situation.  I would like to buy a house, I am sick of throwing my money away in rent for a little apartment, I need the space of a house.

My story:
I am currently a 1st year Electrician Apprentice, I make 40% of top rate ($43/hr).  It comes to $500 take home a week right now.  I am 6 months into my first year.  One of the problems is that school is one day a week for half the year (starting next week!) so the next 6 months I will only be taking home $400 per week.  Of course next September I get a raise to 50% plus the normal yearly raise on top of that, but then 6 months later when I start school I will be losing 8 hours a week which will hurt again.  This will go on for the next 5 years until I become a journeyman and max out, which will probably be at about $50/hr.

Couple of important facts:
We have a rather large pension plus a very good annuity plan, so retirement savings isn't my current concern, I think getting a house should come first right now.
Work isn't guaranteed, buildings get built, jobs end, layoffs are part of the game.  Sometimes you go back to work the next day, sometimes you go back to work 8 months later.  Some residential side work is possible, but not to be replied upon.
I have no credit card debt or any other debt other than a truck lease of $420/month (more than a weeks pay for the next 6 months have
Knowing my situation, that I won't be making any real money now but I will in 5 years, wouldn't an interest only mortgage work out better for me?  My plan would be to pay whatever I can over the top, as the years go by and I make more money I would put that into the payment so it would work out like a normal mortgage.  BUT, if I was out of work for a long period of time, I could go back to paying the lower interest only rate.

What are the expert's thoughts?