Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/28/2008 5:23:37 PM EDT
How fooked am i?

It's  an awesome camera (i'm an amateur, so it more than fits the bill for what i need)

Had it at the range today. Set it up on the trippod, and was going to take some pics. A nice big gust of wind comes by, and tips it over...landing on the lens.

The lens isn't cracked, but there's a small scratch. when i take a picture, if the lighting is bright, you can see it in the upper right hand corner.  It's a Zeiss vario-tessar 2,7-4,5/5,2-78. don't know exactly what that means. I tried rubbing with a cloth, and it's definitly a scratch. camera fell face first into gravel and casings.

Is there any easy or cheap way to get a new lens? What about those scratch repair fluids/sticks?

I don't have the money for a new camera, and certainly dont' want to pay the price of a new camera to repair this one. Any suggestions?

(mandatory mspaint)
Link Posted: 6/28/2008 5:25:41 PM EDT
[#1]
I think your hosed.
The scratch repair fluids are a joke.
You need a better tripod.
Next time invest in a UV or protector filter.
Link Posted: 6/28/2008 5:30:34 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
I think your hosed.

I don't know if they make one for this type. But from what i've been reading, sounds like i am fooked. Crap. I mean, i know the quality on that scratched area is always going to suck, but still....if there were some way to fill it in or something, it wouldn't be as bad.

FWIW, the wind later knocked over a steel sign with a steel base. It was windy today. Of course, it wasn't that bad...till the camera got knocked over. then it got really windy.  
Link Posted: 6/28/2008 5:32:20 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:

Quoted:
I think your hosed.