Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/11/2007 3:31:00 PM EDT
How much of a difference am I going to notice in picture quality, or quality of the lens.  Are they really worth the extra $$$. I dont take pics for a living, just another hobby. If any of you have pics with an L lense vs. cheaper canon lense that would be helpful too.   Thanks
Link Posted: 4/11/2007 3:48:23 PM EDT
[#1]
In a word...yes. But remember, the L series were designed for pro photographers that can blow thousands on lenses (i.e. think Sports Illustrated photographers that need to get good sports shots, National Geographic, etc.)
Link Posted: 4/11/2007 3:53:44 PM EDT
[#2]
With the L lenses I find the edge to edge sharpness is superior, brighter and the coatings are better.
Link Posted: 4/11/2007 4:35:46 PM EDT
[#3]
Every lens I own is a L lens. (with the exception of the Sigma 24-70 that I use on remote-mounted cameras)

Yes, they're worth the money.

But not if you don't make a living doing this.
Link Posted: 4/11/2007 8:58:23 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 4/12/2007 8:34:04 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
While the quality of the glass itself is great, the super fast focusing is the big difference for me.
It means the difference between getting the shot, and not getting the shot.  Plus, you never have to buy a lense and worry about upgrading.
FWIW, I have the 17-55 2.8 EF-S
70-200 F4 L
50 1.8

I know that I will replace the 50, but the other two (which put me back abou $1550) will stay with me as long as I stay canon.  Even if I get a FF or the 1.3, I'll still keep the 30D as back up till the shutter dies.
L glass keeps is value very, very well.  Just in case the whole photography thing doesn't pan out.

If you like 50mm, get the 50mm f/1.2L.

I would if I could.  As it is, I make do with my Nikkor 50mm f/1.4D.
Link Posted: 4/12/2007 7:56:36 PM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 4/13/2007 7:11:02 AM EDT
[#7]