Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 5/6/2018 10:59:56 AM EDT
I have a Nikon D600, a pretty nice little camera if I do say so myself. I've lately been doing wedding receptions & the caterer I help has asked me to do pics of her food tables. well, my 24x70 lens just doesn't do her table justice as they're sometimes pretty long. I think I need a wider angle lens, something in the 14-16mm range? Something in the 2.8f range in case I have to turn my flash off (as I had to last night).

B&H has some nice options in the Zeiss & Nikon lines. Zeiss is a manual focus, Nikon is an auto (I think?). Price is only $200-ish apart, so that's not bad.

Thoughts, comments, suggestions? Keep in mind I'm only a hobbyist doing this as a fun thing to do. An expensive hobby, for certain.  

Thanks!
Link Posted: 5/6/2018 11:20:44 AM EDT
[#1]
For some time I had, and loved, but got very little use out of, the Nikon 14-24mm super wide rectilinear zoom lens.  Great piece of glass.   But also with a retail price around 1900 dollars it's not for every budget.

(I got a screaming deal on mine, used, in need of repair...I repaired it myself using parts bought off ebay.)

I just didn't get much use out of it.  Great lens,  but it turned out that it doesn't fit my photography style very much.

The great thing about that lens is that while it's super wide angle, it's not a fisheye lens. Straight lines stay straight in the image.

I'd say that this lens or one similar to it would certainly achieve your goals.   If you can find one at the right price, jump on it.

I, too, am only a hobbyist photographer.   When I look at my D800 I think "Overkill for a hobbyist" and then when I look at my D810 I think "Seriously?" but what the heck....
Link Posted: 5/6/2018 12:47:45 PM EDT
[#2]
Depth of field on super wides are so deep not a great need for auto focus, so if the Zeiss glass is better, that's the route I'd take.