Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/5/2003 9:23:30 AM EDT
OK, if you read my other post, I'm getting psyched up about starting a new fitness/dieting program and so on.

The thing is, I know myself and I know that I am shitty at following a routine.  Go to the gym 3x/week, I can handle that.

But to plan my meals out in advance, or count calories and grams of protein all day is not something I think I can do.

I've never used a handheld computer before, like a palm pilot or anything, but I was thinking there's got to be a program out there somewhere for a Palm-Pilot type machine that will hold a database of common foods, and the nutritional information.  There's also got to be a program for counting your calories and shit everyday.

This way, I figure if I decide to go to a restaurant, or don't feel like cooking dinner or whatever, I can still keep track of my diet.

This is really all I would need a palm pilot for.  Does anyone use a program like this?  It doesn't seem too complicated and I reckon I can get a handheld computer that's a few years old for cheap and it will get the job done.  What can you tell me?  Where could I find such a program?  What specs should I look for in an old handheld that will do the job?

Thanks.

Edit to add: I'm single so I can't get a wife to cook for me every night and I have lots of hobbies and interests and a short attention span so I tend to do things "spurr of the moment."  Unfortunately, this makes it difficult to eat properly, thus I'm trying to remedy this with convenience afforded by modern technology.

Edit again to add:
I did a quick net search and found the following programs.  Will some of you familiar with a Palm Pilot type machine give your thoughts on what would be most useful, or suggest another program that I didn't find:

[url]http://www.healthcrazed.com/palm.htm[/url]
[url]http://www.fourmilab.ch/hackdiet/palm/[/url]