Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/3/2011 2:27:25 PM EDT
I studied Krav for awhile when I live in Missouri. I now live away from any schools that teach it. So looking around on the net, I found this:

http://www.crystallakeninja.com/register/

I left it cold on purpose.

Does it look legit to anyone who has studied real Asian Martial Arts?

I want a combatives type class and not a Karate school, I'm an older adult and just want to get back to breaking sh!t and, you know.
Link Posted: 3/3/2011 4:22:22 PM EDT
[#1]
Just go there and sit in on a class and look for yourself.  Talk with the instructor, see how he acts and what kind of person are they.  Criticize his techniques and see how he explains it to you.    

Link Posted: 3/12/2011 1:33:02 PM EDT
[#2]
I took this photo directly from their website, do they look like the real thing to you?

I do Krav too, maybe I'm just spoiled.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 12:22:29 PM EDT
[#3]
Yeah DOW, those photos made me question this school. I'm hoping this was a demo day type set of photos.

I'll be attending a class or two this week to evaluate.

Link Posted: 3/13/2011 12:43:53 PM EDT
[#4]
Interesting. I'm coming from the other side of this dilemma. After about 20 years in Karate and Jiujitsu, I'm moving to a new city and want to try something new. Should I give Krav Maga a look? (not trying to hijack this thread...just curious about Krav Maga and its benefits)

BTW, the school linked in the original post does not look promising. Tread with caution.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 3:27:35 PM EDT
[#5]
I'd be weary of any place that has ninja in their title.

Also, Krav Maga is retarded.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 3:36:55 PM EDT
[#6]
There's a Krav school somewhere near Gurnee, IIRC.

Not that far from you.
Link Posted: 3/13/2011 3:41:57 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted: