Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 3/31/2006 7:21:11 AM EDT
Yup, New Jersey's overall financial crisis really hit home today. I found out that I now have to begin paying into my own health benefits and have no raises for two years. Sigh...More broken promises from my "gubmint job". Now I'm in a really bad mood.
Link Posted: 3/31/2006 8:22:47 AM EDT
Welcome to the real world. I've been paying a portion of my health benifits for the last 32 years and haven't had a raise in 3 years.
Link Posted: 3/31/2006 8:53:57 AM EDT
I work for the fedgov and have to do the same thing. It sucks. Hopefully they won't ding you too much. Hang in there.
Link Posted: 3/31/2006 9:16:52 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 3/31/2006 9:18:18 AM EDT by GoingIncognito]

Originally Posted By LUGERMAN:
Welcome to the real world. I've been paying a portion of my health benifits for the last 32 years and haven't had a raise in 3 years.

This was the first job I've had where my benefits were free, and it's a great package. I'm afraid to see what the final amount they decide I need to pay will be. This whole thing is even worse because I've been promised some fairly substantial raises since September '05 (which were supposed to be retroactive), and a future raise in July, and another in September '06. Looks like all three raises are gone with the wind, now. I'm basically taking a pay cut. On top of all that, taxes in my town went up a fair bit, too..grrr....I hope that they don't decide to take any more" cost saving" measures, as things are bad enough around here anyway.

Edit: Anyone who gets the Trenton Times and/or the Trentonian may have read about the troubles.
Link Posted: 3/31/2006 10:14:54 AM EDT