Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/28/2017 11:56:45 PM EDT
As backstory, I work in the mining industry and visit old sites in my spare time; I stumbled across this while doing some related research.

South of Magdalena in Socorro County, there's a mill site from Hydro Resources' attempt to reopen and work the Linchburg Mine in the late 70s to '82 or so. The mill appears to be mostly dismantled, but ALL of the underground equipment is still there. There are multiple LHDs, low-profile trucks, possibly one or more drill jumbos, and probably compressors from what I can tell. It's been sitting in high desert for the last thirty-odd years. It is all on USFS or BLM public land; actual ownership would need to be determined.

Basically, I'm wondering if anyone here from that area who works on heavy equipment would be interested in driving out to the site in the next week or two to assess this stuff and determine whether it can be refurbished economically. I'd meet you out there; I'm working in AZ right now and have been meaning to go back to NM for a bit. Belts, hoses, tires, fluids, and possibly some wire harnesses would need to be replaced. The market value of all this stuff is likely north of a quarter million, especially if refurbished. Depending on what kind of condition the equipment is in, it could be a really good opportunity to refurb and flip the stuff. I believe it was purchased new in the late 70s, and was only used for a short period before the metals market crashed.

Anyone interested?
Link Posted: 8/11/2017 6:36:55 AM EDT
[#1]
The underground equipment might be a tad difficult to get out...