Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/21/2006 2:36:06 PM EDT
OK, I'm trying to figure out a way to satisfy the Proof of familiarity with the safe handling of firearms so I can buy an M1 from CMP.  I'm a student at Georgia Southern and don't really have the time to enroll in any competitions or attend any clinics.  I have the form that says that any LEO / Range Supervisor can sign off that they've witnessed me send more than 50 rounds down range, but the range at Richmond Hill isn't supervised...  What do I do?!
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 4:19:00 AM EDT
[#1]
Who are you again?

I joined the FOP/CMP club in Bham to get mine. All our ARFCom shoots there qualify as CMP sanctioned shoots, simple. Now for your problem...nope, I got nuthin'.

Maybe someone else will chime in with more than some smartass answer. Welcome! btw.

ByteTheBullet  (-:
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 4:31:33 AM EDT
[#2]
If there is a gun shop close by that has a pistol range that would qualify as well.  Get the shop clerk to sign you off.  Of course buy a box of bullets from the shop.
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 8:09:59 AM EDT
[#3]
I never paid attention to the shooting requirement.  Do you have a hunter's safety?

You could always go to a Service Rifle match one saturday and compete.  If you dont have a rifle and equipment you could probably make arrangements ahead of time to use a loaner.

ETA:  Does your school offer a marksmanship course as a PE elective?  The university I went to did.
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 2:28:22 PM EDT
[#4]
yeah I've taken the shooting class here, didn't even think about that - thanks for jarring the memory!  I'll go see the instructor and get him to sign off
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 4:33:36 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 5:58:59 PM EDT
[#6]
thanks guys - by the way I'm Jeff from Atlanta/Statesboro
Link Posted: 3/24/2006 4:15:56 AM EDT
[#7]
That is soooo cheating!